5th Annual Juried Exhibition

Accepted Entries

Todd Anderson - Salamander Glacier-The Last Glacier

Beth Andrews - Flow 5

Charlotte Henley Babb - Greer Alley

Shay Black - Dear America I'm More Than

Diane T Bowen - Plumeria in Limepeel

Leah Brazell - Frame of Reference

Vivianne Lee Carey - A Season in Purgatory

Regan Carson - The Theory of Memory

Tori Christen - Immersion in Nature

Mary Cooke - Borders 1

Jim Creal - Botany Bay: Tidal Esyuary

Irina Dalby - Green Hydrangea

Yelitza Diaz - Climbers on Gray

Tiffany Dodd - Heavy

Addam Duncan - The Night Before

Amber Eckersley - Grandma's Shirt, No. 4

Nellya Evdokimova - Waterfall

Eben Fletcher - Chimney Rock

Isabel Forbes - Underfoot

Kendra Foster - Jeff Vol. II

Amanda Franklin - Wandering Flounder in a Sea of Gray

Carolyn L. Gibson - The Front Door

Emily Glass - Penny

Nathan Raymond Goddard - New Beginnings Spartanburg, SC

Sherry Herr - Two-Sided Shift II

John Hill - Pride

Lydia Hoffman - Bliss

Burnnie Lee Holliday III - Ezell Street

Susan M. Hopps - Communication

John W Ingle - 1940's Union Baseball Player

April Hawkins-Jennings - Out of the Dark

Elizabeth Kabakjian - Chloe

Bridget Kirkland - Castro's Candy

Lily May Knights - Amby Sleeping with Quilt

Samantha Lane - Despondent

Cassidy Lockman - Edible

Quinn Long - The Stranger

Claire Louka - A Little Bird Told Me

Hamed Mahmoodi - Low Tech

Korey D. Manley - Spandrel

Dustin Massey - Peek a chu!

Nancy Masters - Peonies

Doug McAbee - No But Just In Case

Dawnyelle L. Moore - Still

Carlton Mullinax - Snow in the Canyon

Aldo Muzzarelli - Twelve

Celina Odeh - Agricultural Center

Ethan Peeler - Drapery No.2

Phyllis Real - Yellow Rose

Charles Reback - Frisco Pier

Margaret Riedy - Pink House

Karina America Robbins - The Marriage

Dwight Rose - Blue Jeans Matter

Ryan Roth - Sink or Swim or Float

Desiree Schmidt - Tropical Underwater, Flamingo Tongue...

Libby A Skamfer - Celestial Coastline

Betsy Skipper - Winter On The Farm

Caren Stansell - Enshrinement #2

Ali Stones - The Morning After

Doris Turner - Melissa at St Andrews

Ashley Waller - The Birth of Eve/Meet Your Demise

Douglas L. Williams - Child's Play

Greg Wright - Future Home

Patty Wright - Chipped Nails & It's Better Outside

Betsey Youngs - Murphy Doodle

The Spartanburg County Public Libraries are sponsoring the 5th Annual Juried Exhibition that will be on display from August 17th – October 23rd. The competition is open to all artists, 18 and over, professional or amateur, who reside in Spartanburg County (SC), Greenville County (SC), Anderson County (SC), Cherokee County (SC), Laurens County (SC), Union County (SC), Pickens County (SC), York County (SC), Oconee County (SC), Rutherford County (NC), Polk County (NC), and Henderson County (NC).

Sara Schneckloth, Associate Professor and McCausland Fellow in the School of Visual Art and Design at the University of South Carolina, will serve as juror for this year's exhibition.

Cash and purchase awards exceeding $2,600.00 will be presented in this year's exhibition. Entries may be submitted through our online entry form that will open May 2nd and continue through June 14th. There will be a reception and awards ceremony open to the public on Saturday, August 26, 2017, from 7 - 9pm at the Headquarters Library. Live music and hors d'oeuvres will be provided during the reception.

Juror: Sara Schneckloth

Sara Schneckloth's studio practice is motivated by the question of how science, imagination, and the body inform one another through the activity of drawing. By combining the visual languages of biology, geology, and physics into large-scale, mixed-media, and interactive drawings, she creates images that speak to the physicality of markmaking, the embodiment of memory, and our interpretation of natural systems and phenomena.

Schneckloth has shown drawings in over seventy exhibitions throughout the US, UK, South Africa, and France, and her essays on drawing and embodiment have appeared in the Journal of Visual Culture, Visual Communications Quarterly, and the Manifest International Drawing Annual. She holds an MFA from the University of Wisconsin - Madison, and has lived and worked in Iowa, Chicago, Seattle, San Francisco, Cape Town, and Columbia, SC. An Associate Professor and McCausland Fellow in the School of Visual Art and Design at the University of South Carolina, she is presently investigating the intersections of biology and architecture as imagined through drawing.

5th Annual Juried Exhibition Juror Sara Schneckloth

View the 5th Annual Juried Exhibition Prospectus below for eligibility and requirements.

Entry Fee: Early Bird (May 2 - May 25): $20.00; May 26 - June 14: $30.00. Payment is required at time of submission (PayPal) or within (2) days of submission (In Person). Payment can be made via PayPal or in the Administrative Office (Monday - Friday; 9am - 5pm) at the Headquarters Library. The PayPal prompt screen will appear once all form information is submitted through the online entry form below.

For more information contact Miranda Mims Sawyer at 864.285.9091 or mirandas@infodepot.org.

Dates To Remember:

Accepting Entries Online: May 2 - June 14

Artists Notified: July 17

Drop Off Dates: August 7 - 11; 9am - 5pm

Exhibition Dates: August 17 - October 23

Reception: August 26, 7 - 9pm

Spartanburg County Public Libraries Vertical Logo

Art in the Library Logo